Welcome to Marion County, New Teachers!  We are thrilled to have you!  


This page is your resource to the materials we shared during our New Hire sessions along with contact information for times when you have questions.    



             

Presentations:


1. Sherry's Effective Teaching Mix: (Click on the arrows at the bottom of the slide to see the presentation.)

Contacts:



Randall Farley

Chief Instructional Officer

rdfarley@k12.wv.us

304-367-2100 x117

(Secretary: Heidi)


Diane Furman

Math

Science

Assessment

dfurman@k12.wv.us


Sally Morgan

Technology

Counselors

Summer Programs

Assessment

smorgan@k12.wv.us


Gina DeLorenzo

ELA

Social Studies

Art

Health

Media

gdeloren@k12.wv.us


Jean Hinzman

Title I

English Learners

thinzman@k12.wv.us


Gia Deasy

Special Services

gdeasy@k12.wv.us


Stacey Oliver

Kindergarten

Pre-K

stacey.oliver@k12.wv.us


Sherry Copley

ELA

Intervention

Student Assistance Teams

Section 504

srcopley@k12.wv.us







Resources from Effective Teaching Session: 


Methods for Grouping Students


Participation Quadrants



2. Sally and Gina's Positive Expectations Mix (Click on the arrows at the bottom of the slide to see the presentation.)

3. Sally and Gina's Procedures Mix (Click on the arrows at the bottom of the slide to see the presentation.)

4.  Jean and Gina's Binder:  Click here -  Advice for new teachers. (Click on the arrows at the bottom of the slide to see the presentation.)

5. Diane's  Assessing Student Learning. (Click on the arrows at the bottom of the slide to see the presentation.)



RESOURCES:


Beninghof, Anne.  Turning Best Practices Into Daily Practices: Simple Strategies for the Busy Teacher.

       Peterbourough, NH. Crystal Springs, 2010. Print. 


Thompson, Julia G. First Year Teacher's Survival Guide Ready-To-Use Strategies, Tools & Activities for Meeting the Challenges of Each School Day. Hoboken: Wiley, 2012. Print.


Wong, Harry K., and Rosemary T. Wong. The First Days of School: How to Be an Effective Teacher. Mountain View, CA: Harry K. Wong, 2009. Print.